Announcement: Analytic Theology Course Award Program

The University of Notre Dame Center for Philosophy of Religion, in cooperation with the John Templeton Foundation, is providing funding for the development and implementation of courses (or course segments) in analytic theology at divinity schools and departments of theology and religious studies. The project expects to award five applicants with $15,000 each: $5,000 for the applying faculty member, and $10,000 for the host institution. For more information, you may also visit their website and click on the course programs link. Applications are due June 1, 2011.

Here is more info from the website:
The program will provide five annual awards to faculty members who would like to develop and teach a course of one of the following two types: 
  1. Revised Required Courses – A required graduate survey course that does not currently contain a segment on analytic theology, and which the applicant would like to revise so that it does.
  2. New Courses in Analytic Theology – A course dedicated to analytic theology. To qualify, such courses must, if selected, be taught for credit within major degree programs at the institution. Courses must qualify for credit towards a graduate degree in theology or religion and be a full semester, trimester, or quarter in duration. In addition, applicants must provide evidence from the overseeing administrator insuring that the course can be taught at least twice during the four year span after the course award is made. 
Five syllabi will be selected for awards, and evaluators will offer feedback on each winning syllabus, giving advice on readings, course structure, etc. Award winning faculty will be asked to provide a revised syllabus based on feedback before the financial award is made. Awards will consist of $5000 for the individual faculty member and $10,000 for the host institution. Host institutions will be required to set aside at least half of the institutional award for professional development or course enhancement opportunities for the award winning faculty member.